Arizona 4 days road trip

Sometimes it happens that we choose to visit a destination for some random, simple and practical reasons, such as:

  • Because this National Park is one of the seven wonders of the world
  • Because we have seen hundreds of pictures of that place, and we’d like to finally see it for real
  • Because it figures in the list of places to visit before you die (sweet!)
  • Because at the same dates, which are the busiest of the year, the tickets’ price is much more affordable than for any other destinations
  • Because our friend who just moved away forgot the hiking map of this park in the box of stuff that he left to us (NB: Grazie Massimo!)
  • Because my parents went there previously and they told us so many times how beautiful it is
  • Because that weekend is my last birthday in the twenties, no way to celebrate it with a traditional cake and candles!
  • Because we really want to see something different without traveling to the other side of the world

Here we go! These are some of the miscellaneous reasons that motivated us to book our tickets from Atlanta to Phoenix, July 1st-5th, 2015! After one year and a half of visiting places around the East Coast, we were so excited to discover what does the other side of the United Stated look like… California is pretty expensive at this time of the year, so we choose to stop in Arizona for this time, we’ll reach the West Coast later (stay tuned, it’s coming on the blog too!!). Quite proud to finally travel to a place other than New York or Florida, we happily announced to all our friends: let’s go for cactus, canyons and scenic drives! Their reaction was more realistic: let’s go for the stifling heat, dehydration and crowds of tourists… Niiiiice! 😅

In this article, we’ll share with you the story of our first time visiting Arizona in only a few days. We’ll tell you our tip to avoid the mass of international tourists at the Grand Canyon, we’ll suggest you the route of a wonderful hike, we’ll be unveiling an amazing B&B to stay in the desert between Arizona and Utah, and we’ll give you the secret of an absolutely unforgettable birthday!

But, we’ll also leave some questions without answers… How not to dehydrate during a hike with temperatures above 105°F (40°C)? How to go back to a Native Indian lady’s boutique whereas there is only one road in the middle of the desert? How not to shed a tear when it’s time to leave the beautiful land of Arizona…?

Froggyz Adventures invites you to have a look at the little program below that we arranged in order to enjoy as much as possible our first visit in Arizona in only four days! Feel free to pick some ideas if you wish to do a similar trip, and don’t hesitate to contact Froggyz Adventures for more details or if you need help to plan your next road trip 😉

Wednesday, July 1st, 2015 – Night 1

✏️  Departure from Atlanta, GA at 10pm (EST*) arriving in Phoenix, AZ around 11pm (about four hours flight and two hours of time difference*).

✏️  Rent a car at the airport, stop in a gas station not to refill our gas tank but our stock of water bottles!

✏️  En route for a 230-miles trip (370 km) between Phoenix and the Grand Canyon…

✏️  No accommodation booked for this first night, we just had some sleep in the plane and in the car!

Sunrise at Grand Canyon National Park

Sunrise at Grand Canyon National Park

Thursday, July 2nd, 2015 – Day 1/Night 2 > Celebration day! It’s Froggyz’ birthday 🎂

Froggyz-Adventures_Gd-Canyon-Hike

❤️‍ Grand Canyon & Colorado River ❤️‍

✏️ After driving about three hours and a half by night, with a short Mc Donald’s break, we finally arrived at the Grand Canyon National Park, right on time to enjoy the sunrise.

✏️ Fantastic hiking day in the heart of the Grand Canyon!!

✏️ No room reserved again for this second night: we thought that sleeping in the car next to the Grand Canyon would be so much funnier!

✏️ Froggyz in a desperate search of available and affordable rooms in a nearby hotel… We’ll tell you that story ✌️

✏️ Birthday ‘dinner’ at Wendy’s… And eventually, night at the Motel 7 Mile Lodge in Tusayan, AZ, a few minutes away from the Park entrance.

Friday, July 3rd, 2015 – Day 2/Night 3

✏️ Woke up super hungry and dehydrated… Found a great brunch ‘all you can eat’ at the Canyon Star Saloon, and bought some well-deserved souvenirs! This is also where we adopted our cutie raccoon Navajo 😍

✏️ Short trip at the GCNP Visitor Center to stamp our passport of National Parks.

✏️ Nice road along the park enjoying several points of view, and drive until Page, AZ with a stop by the famous Glen Canyon Dam.

✏️ Guided tour of the gorgeous Lower Antelope Canyon.

✏️ Photo-break at Horseshoe Bend.

✏️ Walk around the small town of Page, AZ and dinner at Big John’s Texas BBQ before going to bed at our, sooner or later, pre-arranged accommodation: The Bears Den B&B.

Froggyz Adventures_Antelope Canyon

Lower Antelope Canyon, Navajo Tribal Park – Arizona

Saturday, July 4th, 2015 – Day 3/Night 4 > Celebration day! It’s Independence Day!!

✏️ Delicious and home-made breakfast at the B&B.

✏️ Nice stroll on the shores of the Lake Powell and boat excursion around Antelope Canyon.

✏️ On the road again to Phoenix, lucky to ride a few miles on the Route 66!

✏️ Accommodation booked at The Happy Valley House, was cancelled, then we spent the night at the Radisson Phoenix North hotel – Stay tuned for the gossips 👀

✏️ Dinner at the bistro inside Radisson hotel, yummy burger!

Froggyz Adventures_Glen Dam

Glen Canyon Dam, Lake Powell – Arizona

Sunday, July 5th, 2015 – Day 4

✏️ Brunch at Steve’s Greenhouse Grill in downtown Phoenix.

✏️ Quick walking and driving visit of Phoenix and its surroundings.

✏️ Back at the airport 😢 Take off at 3:30pm and arrival in Atlanta around 10:30pm… On our way back to Augusta, GA!

Froggyz Adventures_Phoenix

Downtown Phoenix, AZ

It was a short gateway full of adventures, emotions and incredible landscapes. Arizona, we’ll come back to travel on your roads, to conquer your canyons and to discover your best-kept secrets 🌵

💓 Froggyz’ favorite lodging during this trip 💤

The Bear’s Den B&B – 864 Driftwood Ave – Page, AZ

After a short sleep in the plane and a second night in a motel, we deserved a more comfortable bed to relax and get some fresh energy to enjoy the rest of our adventures in Arizona! A few days before our departure, we made a reservation in a Bed and Breakfast located in the area of the Lake Powell, in Northern Arizona. The Bear’s Den B&B is a charming house in the small town of Page, AZ. There are only three bedrooms and we got the largest, with a private entrance, a closet and a huge bathroom J We liked the mountain/bears themed decoration which gives to the room a pleasant rustic ambiance. The hosts of the house are very welcoming and friendly, we felt immediately at ease with them. They know a lot of tips to visit the area according to your itinerary and your preferences, and they can even take care of booking activities and tours for you! Breakfast is a convivial moment to meet the other guests, and the home-made and hearty food is really delicious, the perfect combo to start a nice day of exploring! If you stay there, don’t forget to take your picture with the bear skin rug, it’s their family tradition 😂 [Froggyz’ secret: they have a Jacuzzi in the yard with colored lights, a pure relaxing moment, and it’s unlimited 🐸]

A Home away from Home

 

💓 Froggyz’ favorite restaurant during this trip 😋

Canyon Star Steakhouse at The Grand Hotel at The Grand Canyon – 149 State Highway 64 – Grand Canyon, AZ

The brunch at Canyon Star was our only real meal in the Grand Canyon area, and it was awesome!! Of course we were very hungry and thirsty, but we are always impartial on the quality of the food: it was good! We rated it 4/5 on TripAdvisor, the buffet was well garnished with different options, both salty and sweet. The price is really affordable for an all you can eat breakfast, $13 per person (without taxes & tips). The main advantage is that anyone can access the restaurant even without being a customer of the Grand Hotel (which is pretty pricey). One more asset, there is a nice gift shop in the lobby of the hotel where we found some very nice souvenirs of the Grand Canyon!

 

✍️ DID YOU KNOW?…

*In the USA, there are four time zones that divide the country:

🚩 EST > Eastern Standard Time, is the first zone from the Atlantic Coast. New York City, Washington DC, Florida and Augusta, both in Georgia and in Maine, are in this zone! Let’s say, for example, it’s 11am here.

🚩 CST > Central Standard Time, the second zone, goes from Alabama (border State to Georgia) to Texas, including also Louisiana and Chicago. It’s one hour behind EST, so 10am.

🚩 MST > Mountain Standard Time, as its name suggests, it is the large mountain area with States that possess some wonders of nature such as Arizona, Utah and Colorado. Here the clock rings 9am, two hours less than EST and one hour more than PST!

🚩 PST > Pacific Standard Time, in our example it is 8am, you can count three hours less that EST (which makes nine hours of time difference with France and its neighbors!). It is the most Western time zone, on the Pacific Coast, and it includes only four States: California, Nevada, Oregon, Washington and also a small portion of Northern Idaho.

Indeed, several States are split in two time zones. We notice, on the East side of the country, that Tennessee, Kentucky, South Dakota and Nebraska have a part of their territory on CST zone and the other part on MST zone… Until now, we get the idea, but in Arizona we got quickly lost in time! Yep, in this State time is different if you are in the Navajo Indian Nation or in the federal territory: Navajo’s observe Daylight Saving Time, whereas the rest of Arizona doesn’t 🌗 Easy, isn’t it?

Froggyz Adventures_Navajo

Navajooo 😍

7 Comments

Comments are closed.

Road Trip Arizona 4 Jours

Il y a parfois des destinations que l’on choisi de visiter pour des raisons simples et pratiques:

  • parce que le Parc National en question fait partie des 7 merveilles du monde
  • parce que c’est un endroit qu’on a vu des centaines de fois en photos et qu’on voudrait enfin voir en vrai
  • parce qu’il est dans la liste des lieux à visiter avant de mourir (sympa !)
  • parce qu’à ces dates, les plus prisées de l’année, le prix du billet d’avion est carrément raisonnable comparé à d’autres destinations
  • parce que notre pote qui vient de déménager a oublié la carte de rando de ce parc dans le carton d’affaires qu’il nous a laissées (NB: Grazie Massimo!)
  • parce que nos parents y sont allés auparavant et nous ont conté combien c’était magnifique
  • parce que ce week-end là je fête mon dernier anniversaire de vingtaine, alors pas question de faire une soirée ordinaire avec gâteau et bougies!
  • parce qu’on a envie de dépaysement sans pour autant aller à l’autre bout du monde (et parce qu’en quelque sorte on y est déjà)

Voilà en gros les raisons qui nous ont conduites à réserver nos billets Atlanta-Phoenix, du 1er au 5 juillet 2015! Après exactement un an et demi à barouder autour de la côte est, ça nous démangeait d’aller voir comment se présente l’autre côté des Etats-Unis… La Californie étant très chère et touristique à cette période, nous avons choisi de nous arrêter en Arizona pour cette fois, en attendant d’atteindre la côte ouest un peu plus tard dans  l’année (oui, ça arrive bientôt sur le blog aussi!!). Pas peu fiers d’aller enfin visiter une autre région que New York ou la Floride, nous annonçons tous contents à nos amis : à nous les cactus, les canyons et les routes montagneuses! Leur réaction: à vous la chaleur étouffante, la déshydratation, et les hordes de touristes… Okayyyyy! 😅

Dans cet article, nous allons retracer notre parcours à la découverte de l’Arizona en seulement quelques jours. Nous vous donnerons LE secret pour éviter les amas de touristes internationaux au Grand Canyon, nous vous indiquerons le tracé d’une randonnée incroyable, nous vous dévoilerons un endroit topissime où dormir dans un chouette B&B au cœur du désert entre l’Arizona et l’Utah et nous vous dirons aussi comment passer un anniversaire absolument ‘inoubliable’!

Ce que nous ne pourrons pas vous dire dans cet article: comment ne pas se déshydrater pendant une randonnée par plus de 40°C, comment retrouver la boutique d’une Indienne adorable alors qu’il n’y a qu’une route au milieu du désert, comment ne pas verser une larme en quittant la magnifique terre d’Arizona…

Jetez un œil au petit programme ci-dessous que nous avions concocté pour profiter au maximum de notre première découverte de l’Arizona en seulement 4 jours! N’hésitez pas à vous en inspirer si vous souhaitez faire un voyage similaire, et à contacter Froggyz Adventures pour plus de détails ou pour un coup de pouce dans la préparation de votre road trip 😉

Mercredi 1er Juillet 2015 – Nuit 1

✏️ Vol au départ d’Atlanta à 22h (EST*), atterrissage à 23h (MST*) à Phoenix (environ 4h de vol, et 2h de décalage horaire*).

✏️ Location d’une voiture à l’aéroport, arrêt dans une station-service pour faire le plein, non pas d’essence mais de bouteilles d’eau!

✏️ En route pour 230 miles de trajet (370 km) entre Phoenix et le Grand Canyon…

✏️ Pas d’hébergement réservé pour cette 1ère nuit, le dodo c’était dans l’avion et un peu dans la voiture!

Sunrise at Grand Canyon National Park

Sunrise at Grand Canyon National Park – Arizona

Jeudi 2 Juillet 2015 – Jour 1/Nuit 2 > Jour de fête, c’est l’anniversaire de la Grenouille 🎂

Froggyz-Adventures_Gd-Canyon-Hike

❤️‍ Grand Canyon & Colorado River ❤️‍

✏️ Après environ 3h30 de route de nuit et une pause Mc Do, arrivée au Parc National du Grand Canyon juste à l’heure pour admirer le lever du soleil.

✏️ Formidable journée de rando au cœur du Grand Canyon!!

✏️ Pas d’hébergement réservé non plus pour cette 2e nuit: dormir dans la voiture, juste à côté du Grand Canyon c’est tellement plus rigolo!

✏️ Recherche désespérée d’un hôtel disponible, à prix abordable et pas trop loin… Et oui, les plans foireux ça arrive même aux meilleurs  ✌️

✏️ ‘Diner’ d’anniversaire à Wendy’s… Et finalement, nuit au Motel 7 Mile Lodge à Tusayan, AZ, à quelques minutes de l’entrée du Parc.

Vendredi 3 Juillet 2015 – Jour 2/Nuit 3

✏️ Réveil affamés et déshydratés… Brunch à volonté** au Canyon Star Saloon et achat de quelques souvenirs bien mérités! C’est là que nous avons adopté notre petit raton-laveur Navajo 😍

✏️ Petit tour au Visitor Center du GCNP pour tamponner notre passeport des parcs nationaux américains.

✏️ Route le long du parc en profitant des différents points de vue, puis trajet jusqu’à Page, AZ en passant par le fameux barrage Glen Canyon Dam.

✏️ Visite guidée du mythique Lower Antelope Canyon.

✏️ Etape photo à Horseshoe Bend.

✏️ Tour de la petite ville de Page puis diner à Big John’s Texas BBQ avant de rejoindre notre hébergement réservé pour la nuit: The Bears Den B&B.

**Petite parenthèse vocabulaire car j’adore cette expression, ‘à volonté’ se dit ‘all you can eat’ en anglais, soit ‘tout ce que tu peux manger’… Challenge accepted!

Froggyz Adventures_Antelope Canyon

Lower Antelope Canyon, Navajo Tribal Park – Arizona

Samedi 4 Juillet 2015 – Jour 3/Nuit 4 > Jour férié, c’est Independance Day!!

✏️ Petit déjeuner maison super-délicieux au B&B.

✏️ Balade aux abords du Lac Powell et excursion en bateau autour d’Antelope Canyon.

✏️ Route retour jusqu’à Phoenix en passant par un bout de la Route 66!

✏️ Hébergement réservé à The Happy Valley House puis annulé, et finalement nuit à l’hôtel Radisson Phoenix North – On vous racontera les potins, promis 👀

✏️ Diner au grill du Radisson, super bon burger!

Froggyz Adventures_Glen Dam

Glen Canyon Dam, Lake Powell – Arizona

Dimanche 5 Juillet 2015 – Jour 4

✏️ Brunch chez Steve’s Greenhouse Grill, dans le centre de Phoenix.

✏️ Visite rapide de Phoenix et ses alentours à pieds et en voiture.

✏️ Retour à l’aéroport 😢 Décollage à 15h30 et arrivée à Atlanta autour de 22h30, puis route jusqu’à Augusta…!

Froggyz Adventures_Phoenix

Downtown Phoenix, AZ

Un court séjour rempli d’aventures, d’émotions et de paysages époustouflants. Arizona, nous reviendront parcourir tes routes, conquérir tes canyons et découvrir tes secrets cachés 🌵

💓 Coup de cœur hébergement de Froggyz pendant ce voyage 💤

The Bear’s Den B&B – 864 Driftwood Ave – Page, AZ

Après avoir passé une nuit dans l’avion et la deuxième dans un petit motel, nous méritions un lit bien confortable afin de reprendre des forces pour profiter de la suite de nos aventures en Arizona! Nous avions donc fait une réservation, quelques jours avant notre départ, dans un Bed & Breakfast non loin du Lac Powell, au nord de l’Arizona.The Bear’s Den B&B est une charmante maison au centre de la petite ville de Page, il n’y a que trois chambres et nous avons eu la plus grande, avec une entrée privée, un dressing et une immense salle de bain! Le décor ours/montagne avec le lit en bois donne vraiment un côté rustique et dépaysant à la chambre. Les hôtes de la maison sont très chaleureux et amicaux, on est immédiatement à l’aise chez eux, et ils ont pleins de conseils pour visiter au mieux la région selon votre itinéraire et vos envies et s’occupent même des réservations d’activités! Le petit-déjeuner est un moment de convivialité avec les autres convives, mais c’est surtout un vrai délice, fait maison et copieux, tout ce qu’on aime pour démarrer une nouvelle journée de découvertes! N’oubliez pas de vous prendre en photo avec la peau d’ours dans le salon avant de repartir, c’est la tradition de la maison 😂 [Secret de Froggyz: ils ont un jacuzzi dans le jardin avec lumières colorées, un pur moment de détente, et c’est illimité 🐸]

A Home away from Home

💓 Coup de cœur restaurant de Froggyz pendant ce voyage 😋

Canyon Star Steakhouse at The Grand Hotel at The Grand Canyon – 149 State Highway 64 – Grand Canyon, AZ

Le brunch de Canyon Star!! Ce fut notre seul vrai repas dans le coin du Grand Canyon, et certes nous étions vraiment affamés et assoiffés, mais cela ne nous a pas empêché d’avoir un avis objectif sur la qualité de la nourriture: c’était bon! Nous l’avons noté 4/5 sur TripAdvisor, le buffet à volonté était varié avec autant de choix en sucré qu’en salé, et le prix plus qu’abordable a 13$ par personne (sans taxes et sans pourboire). L’avantage c’est qu’on n’est pas obligé d’être client de l’hôtel (lui plutôt cher) pour accéder au restaurant, et en plus ils ont une petite boutique de souvenirs Grand Canyon très sympa!

 

✍️ SAVEZ-VOUS QUE…

*…Les Etats-Unis sont composés de quatre fuseaux horaires qui découpent le pays:

🚩 EST > Eastern Standard Time, c’est la première zone en partant de la côte Atlantique, New York City, Washington DC, la Floride et les deux Augusta (en Georgie et dans le Maine!) en font partie. Il est par exemple 11h du matin.

🚩 CST > Central Standard Time, cette deuxième zone va de l’Alabama (frontalier à la Georgie) jusqu’au Texas, englobant aussi la Louisiane et Chicago. Il est alors 10h du matin, une heure de moins que EST.

🚩 MST > Mountain Standard Time, qui comme son nom l’indique est la grande région montagneuse avec des Etats riches de merveilles naturelles, tels que l’Arizona, l’Utah, le Colorado, etc. Du coup la montre affiche 9h, soit deux heures de moins que EST et une heure de plus que PST!

🚩 PST > Pacific Standard Time, dans notre exemple il est 8h du matin, on compte donc trois heures de moins que EST (soit 9h de décalage horaire avec la France!) dans cette zone la plus à l’ouest du pays, sur la côte Pacifique, qui ne comprend que quatre Etats: la Californie, le Nevada, l’Oregon, l’Etat de Washington et en plus un petit bout du nord de l’Idaho.

En effet, plusieurs Etats se retrouvent à cheval entre deux zones, à l’est c’est le cas notamment du Tennessee et du Kentucky, mais aussi le Dakota du Sud et le Nebraska ont une moitié de leur territoire sur le CST et l’autre moitié sur le MST… Si jusque-là on arrive à peu près à suivre, en Arizona on est vite perdus! Et oui, dans cet Etat l’heure ne sera pas la même selon si l’on se trouve sur la terre des Indiens Navajo ou si l’on est en terre fédérale, car les Navajo suivent le changement d’heure été/hiver (Daylight Saving Time) alors que dans le reste de l’Arizona on ne le fait pas 🌗 C’est simple, n’est-ce pas?

Froggyz Adventures_Navajo

Navajooo 😍

7 Commentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *