Froggyz Adventures - Terrapin Beer Company - Athens, GA

National Day #2: Terrapin Brewery

Early April we announced the ‘National Day’ that we choose for this month: National Beer Day, which is celebrated on April 7th in the USA!

Even if we don’t have any difficulties to honor this nice beverage all year round, we recently celebrated it in style with our friends at the small restaurant Füse located in downtown Augusta. Indeed, their drinks menu offers more than 30 different draft beers, and what we particularly like is the possibility to taste four of them for only $9. How do they make it possible? Thanks to their ‘Beer Flight’ of course! A piece of wood, four holes, 4 glasses, four beers of your choice, a nice wooden table on the patio (understand, on the sidewalk!), some yummy tapas with Southern flavors… Immediate takeoff to a great beer tasting!

Froggyz Adventures - Fuse restaurant - Augusta, GA

‘Beer Flight’ @ Füse restaurant – Augusta, GA

While we celebrate National Beer Day in this article, we’d like to tell you about a local brewery that we visited last year: Terrapin Beer Company. Terrapin is located in Athens, Georgia, less than two hours drive from Augusta. The brewery is a little outside from the downtown and doesn’t look that much welcoming from the exterior, the building looks like a simple warehouse with nothing charming! But, as soon as we entered, we immediately met with Terrapin, the turtle that stands as their mascot and logo for the Company, and smelt the tempting odors of malt and different flavors… Nice!

Froggyz Adventures - Terrapin Beer Company - Athens, GA

Terrapin Beer Company – Athens, GA

The admission is $12 per person, including a souvenir glass and six tasting tickets of 6oz each for the bar, which makes a total of almost three pints… So, plan to have a nap before taking the road on the way back to avoid any trouble with the Sheriff! For the visit, it is recommended to wear closed toe shoes for security reasons, and your guide will provide you with safety glasses. The tour of the plant, the brewery, is about 30 minutes with some explanations from the guide (not very detailed). Some days, while visitors are doing the tour, the plant is running and you can see employees working to ship the Terrapin all around the East Coast of the USA! Indeed, this beer Made in Georgia is currently sold in 10 States, from Florida to New Jersey.

Froggyz Adventures - Terrapin Beer Company - Athens, GA

On the beers’ side, the Terrapin exists in different flavors, not all are available for tasting at the brewery at the time of the visit, but you will be able to discover the most popular ones and even maybe some of their seasonal creations 😋 Several of the Terrapin beers are matching American tastes, such as: the chocolate/peanut butter beer, the unmissable pumpkin or the cinnamon and coffee beers. Each beer comes with its own label with a different name and design. We really enjoyed this characteristic really proper to Terrapin. And on each image, the turtle is displayed in a specific environment or activity, supposed to be related to its taste, which is very creative and funny!
Froggyz Adventures - Terrapin Beer Company - Athens, GAFroggyz Adventures - Terrapin Beer Company - Athens, GA

Finally, you will be, of course, able to leave from the brewery with a stock of your favorite beer and with some Terrapin souvenirs, that, just like us, you will looove for sure, when you’ll « have to » go through the gift store at the exit… !!

Whether you are a beer lover or just stopping by the North of Georgia (yeah, it may happen!), Froggyz Adventures recommends this fun little tour (and tasting!) if you visit Athens, GA and surroundings. Terrapin is well-known in the area, so let’s support local companies!

  • Froggyz’ tips 🐸

Before planning your visit to the Terrapin Brewery, have a look at the American football games scheduled in UGA (University of Georgia), in Athens downtown. Even if it could be a great idea to combine both activities, keep in mind that on game days the brewery hosts many visitors, so you will probably have to wait for a while for each tasting and the tour might be less intimate. But, this being said, sometimes travel dates are not flexible, and you are probably more patient than we are ✌️

Cheers!

Froggyz Adventures - Terrapin Beer Company - Athens, GATerrapin Beer CompanyFroggyz Adventures - Terrapin Beer Company - Athens, GA

265 Newton Bridge Rd

Athens, GA 30607

http://terrapinbeer.com

 

1 Comment

Comments are closed.

Froggyz Adventures - Terrapin Beer Company - Athens, GA

National Day #2: Terrapin Brewery

Début avril, nous vous annoncions le ‘National Day’ de notre série choisi pour ce mois: National Beer Day, que l’on fête le 7 avril aux Etats-Unis!

Alors, même si nous n’avons aucun souci pour rendre hommage à ce doux breuvage toute l’année, nous l’avons célébré dignement avec nos amis lyonnais les Zouzous dans le petit restaurant Füse situé dans le downtown d’Augusta (le « centre-ville » quoi!). En effet, leur drinks’ menu comporte plus de 30 bières pression différentes et ce qu’on aime particulièrement, c’est de pouvoir en goûter 4 pour seulement 9$. Comment? Grâce à leur principe de ‘Beer Flight’! Une planche en bois, 4 trous, 4 verres plus ou moins grands, 4 bières de votre choix, une belle table en bois en terrasse (comprendre, sur le trottoir!), quelques tapas aux saveurs du sud (sud des Etats-Unis, pas de l’Espagne, donc c’est plus sauce BBQ que huile d’olive!), décollage immédiat pour une petite dégustation de bières tranquillou!

Froggyz Adventures - Fuse restaurant - Augusta, GA

‘Beer Flight’ @ Füse restaurant – Augusta, GA

Nous profitons aussi de l’occasion de célébrer le National Beer Day, pour vous parler d’une brasserie locale que nous avons visitée l’année dernière: Terrapin Beer Company. Cette ‘brewery’ (ce mot est juste imprononçable!) est située dans la ville d’Athens en Georgie, à moins de 2 heures de route d’Augusta, GA. La brasserie est un peu à l’écart du centre-ville et ne paie pas de mine de l’extérieur, le bâtiment ressemble à un simple entrepôt tout blanc qui n’a rien de très spécial. Mais quand on passe la porte, on entre directement dans l’univers de Terrapin, la tortue qui sert de mascotte et de logo à l’entreprise, on sent tout de suite les effluves de malt et d’arômes divers qui se mélangent… Miam!

Froggyz Adventures - Terrapin Beer Company - Athens, GA

Terrapin Beer Company – Athens, GA

L’entrée coute 12$ par personne et comprend un verre souvenir et 6 tickets de dégustation de 6oz chacun pour le bar, ce qui revient à un peu plus de 2 pintes au total… Autant prévoir de faire une petite sieste avant de reprendre la route, ou le Sheriff risque de se fâcher! Pour la visite, le guide prête des lunettes de protection et il faut porter des chaussures fermées pour des raisons de sécurité. Le tour de l’usine de production, la brasserie, dure environ 30 minutes avec les explications (assez peu détaillées) de votre guide. Certains jours les machines sont en fonctionnement lors des visites et vous pouvez voir les employés travailler et s’activer pour expédier la Terrapin sur toute la côte est des Etats-Unis! En effet, cette bière Made in Georgia est actuellement vendue dans 10 États, de la Floride jusqu’au New Jersey.

Froggyz Adventures - Terrapin Beer Company - Athens, GA

Côté bières, la Terrapin se décline en différentes variétés, toutes ne sont pas disponibles à la brasserie pour déguster au moment de la visite, mais vous pourrez découvrir les principales et peut-être même certaines de leurs créations saisonnières 😋 Plusieurs des bières Terrapin sont représentatives des goûts américains: la bière chocolat/beurre de cacahuète ainsi que celles à la citrouille (l’incontournable ‘pumpkin’!), à la cannelle ou au café. Chaque bière a sa propre étiquette avec un nom et un design différent, une caractéristique, propre à Terrapin, que nous avons particulièrement apprécié! Sur chaque image on retrouve la tortue dans un environnement ou une activité spécifique, soi-disant en lien avec son goût, c’est très créatif et ludique!

Froggyz Adventures - Terrapin Beer Company - Athens, GAFroggyz Adventures - Terrapin Beer Company - Athens, GA

Enfin, vous pourrez, bien entendu, repartir avec un stock de canettes de votre bière préférée et/ou avec quelques souvenirs à l’effigie de la tortue Terrapin, qui comme nous, saura certainement vous séduire avec sa gamme variée de gadgets que l’on trouve à la boutique de la brasserie par laquelle on est « un peu » obligés de sortir…!!

Si vous êtes amateur de bière ou simplement de passage dans le nord de la Georgie (oui, ça peut arriver!), Froggyz Adventures vous recommande cette petite visite (et dégustation!) sympa dans le cadre d’une journée ou d’un weekend à Athens, GA et alentours. Terrapin est un emblème dans la région, alors soutenons les entreprises locales!

  • Astuce de Froggyz 🐸

Avant de planifier votre visite à la Terrapin Brewery, jetez un œil au calendrier des matchs de football américain qui se déroulent à UGA (University of Georgia), dans le centre d’Athens. Même si cela peut paraître un bon programme de cumuler les deux activités, les jours de match la brasserie accueille beaucoup de visiteurs, vous devrez certainement attendre pour chaque verre de dégustation et la visite sera peut-être moins intime. Mais bon, parfois on n’a pas le choix des dates et vous avez certainement plus de patience que nous ✌️

Cheers!

Froggyz Adventures - Terrapin Beer Company - Athens, GATerrapin Beer CompanyFroggyz Adventures - Terrapin Beer Company - Athens, GA

265 Newton Bridge Rd

Athens, GA 30607

http://terrapinbeer.com

1 Commentaire

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *